IIHF U18 World Championship

IIHF_ComericaWebsite_Graphics_420x280 (002).png

IIHF U18 World Championship


April 26th - May 6th, 2021


The NHL elite of tomorrow are coming to North Texas to showcase their talents as they vie for the Gold Medal! The Best 17- and 18-year-old hockey players from across the world come to Comerica Center in Frisco to stake their claim as the World’s Best. See the future stars of the NHL from USA, Canada, Russia, Finland, Sweden and more in this premier hockey tournament.

                                                                               Buy Tickets!



The primary venue for the tournament will be Comerica Center in Frisco, Texas. It will host Group B for preliminary round play, which includes the U.S., Russia, Czech Republic, Finland and Germany. Comerica Center will also host two quarterfinal games, both semifinal contests, along with the bronze and gold-medal games. Group A preliminary round play, which includes Sweden, Canada, Belarus, Latvia and Switzerland, will be staged at the Children’s Health StarCenter in Plano, Texas. 



The United States has medaled in the IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship an unprecedented 16 straight times, including a record 10 gold-medal performances. The U.S. will looking to win gold in 2021 for the first time since 2017. 



The IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship includes a rich history of top players who have competed in the event, including the likes of NHL stars Patrick Kane, Auston Matthews, Alex Ovechkin, Connor McDavid, Phil Kessel, Mathew Barzal and William Nylander to name a few. A total of 14 players currently on the Dallas Stars system have competed in the event, representing six different countries (USA, Russia, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Slovakia). 



The IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship has been held in the United States on two previous occasions – 2009 in Fargo, North Dakota, and Moorhead, Minnesota, and 2016 in Grand Forks, North Dakota. The 2021 IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship was originally slated to be staged in Plymouth and Ann Arbor, Michigan. 


Previous Hosts of the IIHF World Under-18 Championship 

1999 – Fussen & Kaufbeuren, Germany 

2000 – Kloten & Weinfelden, Switzerland 

2001 – Heinola, Helsinki and Lahti, Finland 

2002 – Trnava & Piestany, Slovakia 

2003 – Jaroslavl, Russia 

2004 – Minsk, Belarus 

2005 – Ceske Budejovice & Plzen, Czech Republic 

2006 – Angelholm & Halmstad, Sweden 

2007 – Tampere & Rauma, Finland 

2008 – Kazan, Russia 

2009 – Fargo, North Dakota & Moorhead, Minnesota, USA 

2010 – Minsk & Babruysk, Belarus 

2011 – Crimmitschau & Dresden, Germany 

2012 – Brn, Czech Republic 

2013 – Sochi, Russia 

2014 – Lappeenranta & Imatra, Finland 

2015 – Zug & Lucerne, Switzerland 

2016 – Grand Forks, North Dakota, USA 

2017 – Poprad & Spisska Nova Ves, Slovakia 

2018 – Chelyabinski & Magnitogorsk, Russia 

2019 – Ornskoldsvik & Umea, Sweden 

2020 – Tournament not held due to COVID-19 pandemic